Specialty Certificate Examinations

The specialty pages provide more information about each of the 12 specialties, including examination dates, sample questions and resources.

The SCEs are available in:

  • Acute Medicine
  • Dermatology
  • Endocrinology and Diabetes
  • European Specialty Examination in Gastroenterology & Hepatology
  • Family Medcine
  • Geriatric Medicine
  • Infectious Diseases
  • Medical Oncology
  • European Specialty Examination in Nephrology
  • Neurology
  • Palliative Medicine
  • Respiratory Medicine
  • Rheumatology


Note to international candidates

An awareness of the content of UK national guidelines such as the following used in clinical practice should form part of the preparation for these examinations:


MRCP(UK) examinations

The MRCP Diploma and Specialty Certificate Examinations are designed to test the skills, knowledge and behaviour of doctors in training. It has three parts: 

MRCP(UK) Part 1

MRCP(UK) Part 2 Written

MRCP(UK) Part 2 Clinical (PACES). 

 Successful completion of the entire three-part examination is required before you can start specialist internal medicine training in the UK. All the MRCP and Specialty Certificate Examinations are approved as part of the UK postgraduate medical training programme and follow the UK curricula and guidelines.


How we make a quality exam

MRCP develops and delivers membership and specialty examinations that are recognised around the world as quality benchmarks of medical knowledge and clinical skills. Good examinations play an important role in the protection of patients by ensuring that doctors have the appropriate high level of knowledge and skill. They also give every doctor a fair chance to demonstrate his or her level of ability – no matter when or where the examination is taken. Achieving this requires sound procedures and input from numerous experts.