FRCOG: A global exam

The International standard qualification in O&G

The  UKAP RCOG /FRCOG is a truly international organisation of over 16,000 Fellows and Members worldwide. Around half of our members practise outside the UK, with over 6000 obstetricians and gynaecologists working in more than 100 countries including India, Pakistan, Saudi Arabia, the UAE and many more.

Our leadership in medical education, combined with the knowledge and expertise of our international faculty, enables us to design curricula to support O&G training and women’s health care globally. The FRCOG exam is internationally respected as the gold standard qualification for career progression in O&G: it’s your passport to the very pinnacle of the profession.

The Membership examination, which was first held in 1931, is intended for those who wish to specialise in obstetrics and gynaecology. The exam is a 3-part assessment:

Part 1 FRCOG

Written examination to evaluate basic and clinical sciences relevant to the subject.

Part 2 FRCOG

Written examination that assesses the application of knowledge.

Part 3 FRCOG

A stand-alone clinical skills exam which assesses candidates’ ability to apply core clinical skills in the context of the skills, as defined in the Part 2 FRCOG curriculum.

The Part 3 FRCOG is part of the assessment and validation process for entry on to the UK Specialist Register and progress to a consultant post in O&G. UK specialty trainees must pass the Part 2 and Part 3 FRCOG before progressing from ST5 to ST6.

Membership is awarded to those who have passed all 3 parts of the Membership examination. Members may use the designatory letters FRCOG.